Distinguished Alumnus | Westmoreland County Community College, Youngwood, Pennsylvania

Recognizing the Achievements of Our Alumni

Westmoreland Seeking Distinguished Alumnus & Aspiring Alumnus Leadership Award Nominations

Westmoreland County Community College is accepting nominations through Friday, February 18 for its Distinguished Alumnus Award and Aspiring Alumnus Leadership Award.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award recognizes and honors Westmoreland alumni who have distinguished themselves through professional accomplishments, significant community-based service, and support or service to the college.  It will be presented at the Westmoreland commencement ceremony Friday, May 6.

Prospective recipients must have earned an associate degree, diploma or certificate from Westmoreland or have completed at least 30 credit hours at Westmoreland. The award is a one-time honor and previous recipients are ineligible. 

Aspiring Alumnus Leadership Award nominees must be a current Westmoreland student with a cumulative GPA greater than 2.5, expect to earn a college credential in May 2022, show success in the classroom and exhibit leadership qualities through active involvement at Westmoreland and/or in their communities.

If you would like to nominate a Westmoreland Alumnus for this prestigious award, please complete the Nomination Form

Candidates are welcome to self nominate. Questions?  Please email the Educational Foundation team at foundation@westmoreland.edu .

Glenn Repko

2021 Distinguished Alumnus Award Recipient: Glenn Repko

Westmoreland County Community College named Glenn Repko of Latrobe as the 2021 Distinguished Alumnus during the 50th commencement ceremony held May 7.

Repko graduated with honors from Westmoreland in 2010 earning an associate degree in nursing and also received the Excellence in Nursing Practice Award. He went on to earn his bachelor of science degree in nursing from Penn State-Fayette in 2012 and obtained his master of science degree in nursing and his doctor of nursing practice from Grand Canyon University.

Repko is currently the clinical director of Health Care Support at Excela Health. In this role, he oversees approximately 200 employees including the staffing and support teams, the telecommunications department, and the transport/escort department and nursing supervisors for Westmoreland Hospital. In addition, he is responsible for the oversight of contracted agency employees.

Mary Jakubek

2021 Aspiring Alumnus Award Recipient: Mary Jakubek

Westmoreland named Mary Jakubek of Latrobe this year's Aspiring Alumnus for her exceptional performance in two current majors- Associate of Arts, Nursing. Jakubek has diligently pursued her studies while working full time as a certified medical assistant for the general surgical group at Excela Health. 

A Navy veteran who earned the rank of Second Class Petty Officer in Logistics Supply while stationed in New Orleans, Jakubek was deployed to El Salvador working in joint operations with the Coast Guard. She also spent time in the Navy Reserves and received many commendations including the Navy and Marine Corp Achievement Battle “E” awards, National Defense Service medal, Navy and Marine Corp Overseas Service medal, Pistol Marksmanship medal and Good Conduct medal. She remains active in veteran organizations.

During her first time enrolling at Westmoreland, she was a member of the inaugural women’s cross country team and won the National Title for the National Junior College Athletic Association Division (NJCAA)III and received a national championship ring. Additionally, she set a course record during the NJCAA Division II Championship, received the college’s Outstanding Cross Country Runner award and Outstanding Female Athlete award while maintaining a GPA that landed her on the President’s and Deans’ lists.

A new award for 2021, the Aspiring Alumnus award recognizes a current Westmoreland student who holds a cumulative GPA greater than 2.5, expects to earn a college credential in May 2021, shows success in the classroom and exhibits leadership qualities through active involvement at Westmoreland and/or in their communities.

Past Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2020 - Aaron Allen Criminal Justice, 2009
2019 - Clyde Parry Law Enforcement & Police Science, 1985
2018 – Melinda S. Rossell, DPN, RN Nursing, 2005
2017 – John F. Swank Criminal Justice, 1997
2016 – Terry M. Wiltrout Information Science, 1993
2015 – MaryAnn Cherubini (d) Information Science, 1979
2014 – Jeffrey T. Mayo Law Enforcement / Transfer, 1986
2013 – Chef Regis M. Holden Culinary Arts & Hospitality, 1999
2012 – Alan J. Laick Publishing & Imaging / Commercial Art, 1999/2000
2011 – Dr. Cindy A. Komarinski Food Service Management, 1984
2010 – Karen A. Craig Mechanical Drafting, 1979
2009 – Dr. Charles A. Mance Information Science, 1977
2008 – Dr. Judith E. Sturges General Studies / Transfer, 1992
2007 – Tim Pisula Information Science, 1984
2006 – Sandra L. Kratofil-Kaukonen Nursing, 1983
2005 – Herman Mihalich Real Estate, 1974
2004 – Chef Keith A. Coughenour Culinary Arts & Hospitality, 1987
2003 – Thomas D. Horan Law Enforcement / Transfer, 1981
2002 – Buck T. Helffrich Electronics, 1982
2001 – Kathleen J. Bordini Food Service Management, 1987
2000 – Richard A. Parfitt Law Enforcement / Transfer, 1978
1999 – Robert J. Grossman Liberal Arts, 1978
1998 – Edward J. Brinker Business Management, 1977
1997 – Donald D. Good Liberal Arts, 1978
1996 – James A. “Jack” Cherubini Business Management, 1973
1995 – Joanne Cecchi Business Management, 1974
1994 – George P. Smail General Studies, 1979
1993 – Barbara J. Terry Nursing, 1977
1992 – Patricia A. Walt Business Management, 1977