WCCC Students Honored for Academic Achievement

Date Published: May 20, 2013

YOUNGWOOD, PA - Westmoreland County Community College recently honored outstanding graduates for their academic achievements at an awards ceremony held at the campus in Youngwood.

Academic Achievement Awards were presented to the following students for maintaining the highest grade point averages in their respective majors:


Hunter J. Baines – associate of arts

Belle Vernon

Michael E. Miller – computer numerical control technology


Terra L. Havash – office technology


Brittany L. Halford – diagnostic medical sonography

Amber S. Long – engineering technology


Jacob Bell – homeland security


Heather D. Nedrow – computer technology


Brooke M. Brenner – culinary arts


Megan P. Kelly – dental assisting (diploma)

Sarah J. Hendricks – nursing

Chelsea E. Vella – radiology technology

Sapana P. Bhagat – accounting

Grace P. O’Donnell – business management

Kenneth A. Patrick – computer information security

Lisa C. Nease – multimedia and photography

Monica C. Barnett – office technology

James W. Kasper – web technology

Annette M. Lingenfield – criminal justice

Rhonda L. Trayers – paralegal

Dianne M. Palmieri – baking and pastry and dietetic

technology/nutritional services management

Travis M. Inks – robotics technology


Christine M. Hrutkay – horticulture


Deirdre M. Kwiatkowski – human services


Joseph M. Strehlen – machine technology


Heather A. Ricci – office technology (diploma)

Valerie J. Smith – web technology

Cindy M. Merkovsky – associate of fine arts

Ryan C. Deglau – architectural drafting & design technology

Heather Snyder – baking and pastry


James M. Schellhammer – manufacturing technology


Karonia L. Morrison – business management (diploma)

Krystal M. Kunkle – early childhood education

Sherry J. Thompson – associate of arts


Welby D. Jackson – office technology (diploma)


Brenna R. Ferris – baking & pastry

Mt. Pleasant

James A. Sherbine – computer information security

Drusilla R. Emanuel – office technology

Jamie L. Mitchell – education/pre-k-grade 4

Kerri L. Zelenak – education/pre-k-grade 4

Alan L. Kantorik – culinary arts


Fred J. Gurney – welding engineering technology

New Kensington

Scott L. McMannis – human services

Heather M. Harbison – restaurant/culinary management

North Huntingdon

Alicia D. Cutruzzula – computer technology

Matthew J. Close – multimedia & photography

Kristen E. Savko – office technology

Kevin F. Hinson – electronics engineering technology


Beverly E. Smith – office technology


Jonathan C. Dewitt – graphic design & animation


Cassaundra E. Eiford – dental hygiene

Edward J. Zgorecki – graphic design & animation

Roger M. Johnston – culinary arts (diploma)

West Newton

Walter L. Eichelberger – business management

Several Distinguished Student Awards were also presented, including the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award to Paula Matiasic of Luxor; the ACT 101 Award to Brittany Carr of Latrobe; the John and Sue Pollins Touchstone Award to Olivia Miller of Greensburg; the TRiO Award to Kayla West of North Huntingdon; and the Wayne Smith Award for Culinary Apprentice to Brooke Brenner of Farmington.

The All-USA and All-Pennsylvania Academic Team Awards were presented to Brittany Carr of Latrobe and Toni Josebeck of Youngwood. In addition to the awards, the students received stipends from the WCCC Educational Foundation Inc. and from the WCCC Professional Association.

The WCCC King Outstanding Minority Student Award, named for Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and former community college trustee Emily King, was presented to Shauwn Austin of Latrobe.

The WCCC Award of Merit in Studio Arts was presented to Marion Morton of Greensburg. The WCCC Associate of Fine Arts Transfer Award was presented to Bradley Weyandt of Greensburg.

The program included introductions by Dr. Daniel Obara, president of the college and remarks by WCCC 2013 Outstanding Teacher Carole Zeglin, associate professor of medical assisting and clinical laboratory technology.